Day 4: Valentines Day Special

quote-every-form-of-happiness-is-private-our-greatest-moments-are-personal-self-motivated-ayn-rand-46-46-96

‘Every form of happiness is private. Our greatest moments are personal, self-motivated, not to be touched. The things which are sacred or precious to us are the things we withdraw from promiscuous sharing. But now we are taught to throw everything within us into the public light and common pawing. To seek joy in meeting halls.’ – Ayn Rand (Excerpt from The Fountain Head)

Isn’t it true? We all have witnessed numerous display of affection in social media and some have also participated in it (I know I have). While some moments/stories are worth sharing and spread a feel-good factor among audiences, other just end up being a plain overdose of PDA for the readers. Even though I respect their freedom of expression, I intend to draw their attention to this perspective of sharing happiness.

The addictive nature of social media especially for likes and comments have indeed led us to promiscuous sharing of our personal moments. Why do we always look for validation of our happiness through social media? More than enjoying the moment, we are concerned about taking pictures and videos, to share in social media. I too am a victim of this addiction, which is why I write this article. While on a valentines dinner date with my husband, I was busy taking selfies, snapchatting, instagraming, etc. etc. and then realizing my stupidity I put my phone aside. Only after 5 minutes or so, I surrendered to my urge to check my phone again. Sad but true. 😛

I understand that any form of addiction is not easy to let go and so is not the addiction to social media. However, I would want people to at least see their enormous involvement in social media from this perspective and make little attempts to withdraw from vicious sharing of personal moments and retain the value of their private life to PRIVATE!

Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

